Discography

Close Instrumental music

Pierre Arvay

Various / Divers — 2021

Introduction - Credits:

Summary - Information:

Singer(s) - Performer(s):

Orchestrator(s) & arranger(s):

Musician(s):

Note(s):

Since the 2000s, Pierre Arvay’s library music has been available in a digital format. De Wolfe Music and Kapagama – his two main publishers – have stopped producing CDs (De Wolfe Music stopped in 2014). The catalogue of recordings can now be accessed via the Internet.
The development of downloadable music and music-listening websites also concerns other tracks by Pierre Arvay. His songs and orchestrations for various artists are now available on several websites. Consequently, his work on disc is rarer.


Moreover, Pierre Arvay records that were released in France until 1962 are no longer subject to neighbouring rights, which means that the original producers no longer have to give their permission for the music to be performed or broadcast. Several labels have therefore begun to sell them on the Internet, with varying degrees of quality (inaccurate credits, poor sound quality, etc.).

Take the specific example of the Bibliothèque nationale de France (the National Library of France). One of its missions is to preserve sound recordings released in France, going back to the original recordings (approximately one million recording media). A programme to digitize some of the records released until 1962 (and therefore no longer subject to neighbouring rights) was launched in partnership with Believe Digital and Memnon Archiving Services. Within this framework, since 2013, the Bibliothèque nationale de France has been selling digital versions of many Pierre Arvay 33 and 45 RPMs on different music download platforms.

Discographie

Close Musique instrumentale

Pierre Arvay

Various / Divers — 2022

Présentation - Crédits :

Résumé - Informations :

Interprète(s) :

Orchestrateur(s) & arrangeur(s) :

Musicien(s) :

Note(s) :

Depuis les années 2000, les musiques d’illustration sonore de Pierre Arvay sont exploitées en version numérique. De Wolfe Music et Kapagama – ses deux principaux éditeurs – ayant arrêté leur production de CD (en 2014 pour De Wolfe Music), c’est désormais en ligne que le catalogue est exploité.
Le développement du téléchargement et des sites d’écoute touche également les autres titres de Pierre Arvay : ses chansons et ses orchestrations pour divers artistes sont à présent disponibles sur de nombreux sites, les disques sont donc plus rares.


Par ailleurs, les disques de Pierre Arvay parus en France jusqu’en 1962 sont aujourd’hui libres de droits voisins, c’est-à-dire que les producteurs d’origine n’ont plus à donner leur accord pour de nouvelles exploitations. Plusieurs labels se sont donc mis à les commercialiser sur internet, de façon plus ou moins qualitative (crédits approximatifs, qualité sonore parfois mauvaise, etc.).

Citons l’exemple particulier de la Bibliothèque nationale de France, dont l’une des missions est de conserver les enregistrements sonores diffusés en France depuis les origines de l’enregistrement (environ un million de supports) : un programme de numérisation d’une partie des disques parus jusqu’en 1962 (donc libres de droits voisins) a été lancé, en partenariat avec Believe Digital et Memnon Archiving Services. C’est dans ce cadre que la BnF commercialise depuis 2013 sur diverses plateformes de téléchargement la version numérique de nombreux 33 Tours et 45 Tours de Pierre Arvay.