Pierre Arvay

Pierre Arvay (Turin, 1924 - Bagnols-en-Forêt, 1980) is a French composer, orchestrator and arranger, particularly well-known in the field of library music.
He also worked under the pseudonyms of Jean-Claude Roc, David Prieston, Peter Mills and Cham Staker.

After classical training, notably taught by Jean Batalla (piano) and Henri Büsser (composition), Pierre Arvay began his career composing songs for Yves Montand, Annie Cordy, François Deguelt and others. He also appeared on the radio, playing piano in several musical programmes and wrote accompanying music for various programmes.
He was, in addition, artistic director of Parisian cabarets – including the famous Échelle de Jacob to which he invited artistes such as Jacques Brel, Cora Vaucaire and Léo Ferré – while continuing to compose, especially classical works (ballet, toccata, etc.) but also original soundtracks for the cinema and television.

Pierre Arvay’s career took off when he joined the Chant du monde and Sidéral labels, then the Teppaz label, for all of which he was composer, arranger, orchestrator and artistic director of several record collections. Teppaz gave him the opportunity to record music of every genre, including contemporary classical compositions such as the Images symphoniques. There were therefore a lot of records, among which was the first 33 RPM record of library music to come out in France: Musiques de scènes.
Following the success of his works in the field of stock music, he was approached by the De Wolfe Music label – a specialist in this genre. He went on to compose for this company and its subsidiaries for nearly twenty years. His music was distributed all over the world, the records being reserved for media professionals.

At the same time, Pierre Arvay was managing his own library music label, created as part of producer and presenter Pierre Bellemare’s Técipress production company. The Técipress music publishing operation went on to become In Editions.
With the other artistes he recruited, Pierre Arvay composed a musical catalogue that grew rapidly and was offered to professionals on audiotape; some records such as the Timing collection were nevertheless pressed (in partnership with De Wolfe Music), to facilitate promotion. This Técipress-In Editions catalogue is now managed by music publisher Kapagama.

Pierre Arvay also passed on some of his technical knowledge as he was invited for several consecutive years to give classes in rhythm at the Conservatoire National Supérieur d’Art Dramatique in Paris.

From so-called "serious" music to the more "commercial", Pierre Arvay created an eclectic catalogue, giving free rein to that melodic verve and those qualities of orchestration which brought him his success. Most of the titles being dedicated to the stock music industry, his name is little known by the general public, as composers in this field are rarely mentioned. However, today as yesterday, the music of Pierre Arvay goes with us and forms part of our everyday environment, whether at the cinema, on the radio, television, Internet or in some public places.

Pierre Arvay

Pierre Arvay (Turin, 1924 - Bagnols-en-Forêt, 1980) est un compositeur, orchestrateur et arrangeur français, particulièrement reconnu dans le domaine de l’illustration musicale.
Il a également travaillé sous les pseudonymes de Jean-Claude Roc, David Prieston, Peter Mills et Cham Staker.

Après une formation classique, notamment auprès des professeurs Jean Batalla (piano) et Henri Büsser (composition), Pierre Arvay débute sa carrière en composant des chansons pour Yves Montand, Annie Cordy, François Deguelt… Également présent à la radio, il joue du piano dans plusieurs émissions musicales et écrit les musiques d’accompagnement de divers programmes.
Il est par ailleurs directeur artistique de cabarets parisiens – dont la célèbre Échelle de Jacob où il invite des artistes tels que Jacques Brel, Cora Vaucaire, ou encore Léo Ferré – tout en continuant de composer, notamment des œuvres classiques (ballet, toccata…) mais aussi des bandes originales pour le cinéma et la télévision.

L’envol a lieu lorsque Pierre Arvay rejoint les labels Chant du monde, Sidéral puis Teppaz, pour lesquels il sera compositeur, arrangeur, orchestrateur et directeur artistique de plusieurs collections de disques. Chez Teppaz il a l’opportunité d’enregistrer tous les genres de musiques, dont ses compositions classiques contemporaines comme les Images symphoniques. Les disques seront donc nombreux et l’on compte parmi eux le premier 33 tours d’illustration musicale paru en France : Musiques de scènes.
Suite au succès de ses œuvres dans le milieu de l’illustration sonore, il est approché par le label De Wolfe Music – spécialiste du genre. Il composera pour cette maison et ses filiales pendant près de vingt ans. Ses musiques seront alors distribuées dans le monde entier, les disques étant quant à eux réservés aux professionnels des médias.

En parallèle, Pierre Arvay dirige son propre label d’illustration musicale, créé au sein de la société de production Técipress de Pierre Bellemare (producteur et animateur) ; la partie édition musicale de Técipress deviendra par la suite In Editions.
Avec les autres artistes qu’il recrute, Pierre Arvay compose les musiques du catalogue qui grandit rapidement et est proposé aux professionnels sur bandes audio ; quelques disques comme la collection Timing seront néanmoins pressés (en partenariat avec De Wolfe Music), afin de faciliter la promotion. Le catalogue Técipress-In Editions est aujourd’hui géré par la maison Kapagama.

Pierre Arvay transmet également certaines de ses connaissances techniques puisqu’il est invité plusieurs années de suite à donner des cours de rythmique au Conservatoire national supérieur d’art dramatique de Paris.

De la musique dite « sérieuse » à celle plus « commerciale », Pierre Arvay a créé un catalogue éclectique, laissant s’exprimer cette verve mélodique et ces qualités d’orchestration qui ont fait son succès. La plupart des titres étant dédiés au milieu de l’illustration sonore, son nom est peu connu du grand-public, les compositeurs étant rarement mentionnés dans ce domaine. Pourtant, aujourd’hui comme hier, les musiques de Pierre Arvay nous accompagnent et font partie de notre environnement quotidien, que ce soit au cinéma, à la radio, à la télévision, sur internet ou dans différents lieux publics.